Local Halal Businesses

Local Halal Food Businesses

See below a list of Halal businesses in Lower Hutt. If you’d like to add your business to this list, please contact us


What does Halal mean?

Halal is an Arabic term which can be basically translated to mean ‘permissible or lawful in Islam’. In Islamic principles, the term Halal takes a specific, well-defined meaning.

What Qur’an says

General Qur’anic guidance dictates that all foods are Halal except those that are specifically mentioned as Haram (unlawful or prohibited). The Glorious Qur’an reads

“O ye who believes! Eat the good things wherewith we have provided you, and render thanks to Allah, if it is He whom ye worship. (chapter II, Verse 172)”
“He hath forbidden you only carrion, and blood, and swine flesh, and that on which hath been invoked any other name besides Allah’s……..” (Chapter II, Verse 173)
“Forbidden unto you (for food) are: carrion and blood and swine flesh, and that on which hath been invoked the name other than Allah, and the strangled, and the dead through beating, and the dead through falling from a height, and that which hath been gored to death, and the devoured of wild beasts, saving that which ye make lawful (by slaughter) and that which hath been immolated to idols and that ye swear by the divining arrows. This is an abomination….” (Chapter V, Verse 3)

In New Zealand there are many Halal meat outlets such as butcheries and so on, where people can obtain their regular and fresh supplies of Halal meat.

If Muslims wish to purchase their meat from supermarkets, they should look for products in sealed packaging that are certified by reputable Halal Conformity Bodies.

Halal Animals

The following animals are fit for Muslim consumption:

  • All domestic birds
  • All cattle
  • Sheep
  • Goats
  • Camels
  • All types of buck
  • Seafood


Haram Animals

The consumption of the following animals is against the dietary laws of Islam. Likewise, any ingredient or product derived from them or contaminated with them is also prohibited for a Muslim to consume:

  • Meat of an animal that was not blessed with the name of Allah at the time of slaughter
  • Animals killed in a manner which prevents their blood from being fully drained from their bodies;
  • Meat of swine (pig) including all it’s by-products
  • Meat of dead animals (carrion)
  • Meat of animals that were strangled to death
  • Meat of animals that were beaten to death
  • Meat of animals that died due to falling from a height
  • Meat of animals that were gored to death by a horn
  • Meat of animals that were devoured by wild beasts
  • Carnivorous animals with fangs, e.g. lions, dogs, wolves, tigers, etc…
  • Birds of prey e.g. falcons, eagles, owls, vultures, etc
  • Reptiles, snakes, crocodiles
  • Mules and Asses
  • Pests’ e.g. rats and scorpions
  • Insects excluding locusts


Halal Certification

For Halal certification, please visit FIANZ.